New to weight training – help/suggestions

Home / Forums / Weight Training & Conditioning / New to weight training – help/suggestions

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 41 total)
  • Author

Hi guys, I am new to weight training and would like some advice or tips on what i should do and eat

Ill give you some of my specs:

Sex: Male
    Height 6’1
    Weight: 77kg

Now i would class myself as skinny and would like to gain muscle mass, i have in my head that around 85ks would be an ideal weight for me, now that seems to be a lot of muscle to gain so i need help from you guys as i am really new to this

I have just started cycling, i do around 50kms a week, is that a good form or cardio?

i ride mondays wednesdays fridays and weight train sundays, turesdays, thursdays

now when i say weights i use a home gym with peck deck and stuff as well as a bench press and dumbells, not much else, is there any other things i should be using?

my weights session is around half an hour long

should i be doing light weights with more reps or heavy weights with less reps to bulk up?

i have been doing weights for like 6 weeks now and have noticed slight improvements but not much, however i am dedicated to bulking up, i feel it may be my diet letting me down

can anyone suggest a diet or what i should be eating given my specs and workouts above? would be appreciated

also, iv gone a got a protein powder called muscle milk by cytosport, i had no idea what i was getting just asked the guy over the phone what i should get to build muscle mass, only been using it a week, havnt noticed any changes yet but i dont expect to at this early stage, can anyone tell me if this is a good or bad protein shake?

i have an office job so dont do much during the day

thanks for your help/criticisms guys, as i said im new to this so any help greatly appreciated

cheers

April 6, 2009 at 11:49 pm #7989

Hi there JD,