mark rippetoe’s ‘starting strength’ workout vs. 3 day split

Home / Forums / Weight Training & Conditioning / mark rippetoe’s ‘starting strength’ workout vs. 3 day split

• This topic is empty.
  • Author

after screwing around all winter (i suck) i have returned to the gym with exactly 3 months until summer officially arrives.

i’ve had my successes and failures with training before, and i’ve learnt along the way that among many other things diet is critical, i’m planning on a clean bulk for the next three months, at the end of which hopefully i have added some mass but not tooo much fat (fortunately for me i struggle to put on fat.)

i started training on a three day split along these lines pyramiding down in reps and up in weight for each exercise (three sets per exercise, 12/8/6 reps.)

Chest/Triceps/Core
    • bench press
    • incline dumbbell press
    • smith machine incline press
    • pec-dec
    • tricep pull-down
    • crunches

Back/Shoulders/Biceps
    • bent rows
    • close grip lat pull down
    • wide-grip chin-ups
    • cable rows
    • military press
    • dumbbell lateral raises
    • preacher curls

Legs
    • deadlifts
    • leg press
    • calf raises
    • leg extensions
    • lying leg curls

however i have now read up on the mark rippetoe’s ‘starting strength’ workout and am considering giving it a try instead as it seems to be the flavour of the month. here’s a copy/paste job of how it works-

You train on 3 nonconsecutive days per week.

So week 1 might look like:
    Monday – Workout A
    Wednesday -Workout B
    Friday – Workout A

Week 2:
    Monday – Workout B
    Wednesday – Workout A
    Friday – Workout B

Workout A
    3×5 Squat
    3×5 Bench Press
    1×5 Deadlift
    2×5-8 dips (only add weight if you are doing >10 bodyweight dips)

Workout B
    3×5 Squat
    3×5 Standing military press
    3×5 Pendlay Rows (or power cleans for 5×3, 5 sets of 3 reps apiece)