5×5

• This topic is empty.
  • Author

Hi all. Just wondering what you think of 5×5 training? Is it a good system?I have been doing HIT Mentzer/Yates style for 2 years with good results and will start a 5×5 next week after my week off. Reason for change, I was looking for a body shocker without doing a marathon workout. My current workouts take no more than 20min max. Kids and work don’t allow any more. I have focused the 5×5 on squats,bench press and deadlifts with complimentory exercises, split over 3 days a week.I train at home with a smith machine and free weights. Strength and power are my main focus. Any comments,experiences or pointers would be good. Cheers………….

March 18, 2008 at 9:20 am #6114

You won’t do 5×5 properly in 20 minutes. You will die, or at least I would have.

It is great for power. I probably got some size from it as well but don’t do it forever. One thing that I’ve noticed about people that use 5×5 a lot is that they complain that they have bad genetics for arm development. 😀 😀

March 19, 2008 at 3:55 am #6115

Yeah I agree with Bull there with the time issue. I found that when I was on 5×5 I got really strong and that felt great but I don’t believe I gained alot in size.

One thing it did do was allow my brain to realise it could push beyond the normal weights I was lifting and the other thing it did was put a lot of strain on my joints etc which I was aware of the entire time on 5×5.

Have go at it cos it makes you feel good and allows you to push past standard boundries, but don’t make it routine. 😉

March 19, 2008 at 10:28 am #6116

Thanks for the info. The time issue can be sorted and I only intend to do it for 6-7 weeks then I will go back to what I know.I will watch the joint pain though,can do without that. I am doing it for the strength it’s supposed to give you. I will let you know how it all goes anyway. Thanks.

March 20, 2008 at 11:26 am #6117