Home Forums Ask Ian Muscle size no results

21 replies, 0 voices Last updated by Avatar yarro 11 years, 3 months ago
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    yarro
    @yarro

HI All
    I’m after some advice on muscle gain I have been training for 4 months 2 to 4 times a week with progressive reps 12 ,10 ,8 ,and 6 and go up weight very week I eat heaps of food with no rubbish only drink water and only drink milk with my breakfast and with protein shake redbak complete 30 grams twice a day.
    I have lost heaps around my hips and waste and lost 1 or 2 cm for my legs chest and arms I’m 87.5 kg and 183cm and have maintained that weight for the last 6 to 8 weeks.
    I’m 41 I’m not wanting to massive just want some size.
    Any advice would be welcome.

Thanks Yarro

#6437 Reply
    dave
    @dave

What is heaps of food to you? as I eat a damn lot of food when trying to put on a bit of size and in comparison people who say they eat a lot are shocked that I can eat so much.

Also you might want to look into your exercise choices (list them up), but basically I would say hit the big compound exercises such as deadlifts, squats, bench press, bent over rows, chin ups, dips etc

Get some more info in about the weight lifting exercises you do, how much you lift, what you eat for a typical day, what other exercise you do, what is your job like ie office worker or landscaper.

Good to see you have lost fat though, thats the best way to start.

#6438 Reply
    Dr J
    Dr J
    @Dr J

If you know what your waist size was before you started and what it is now you can make a rough estimate of change in bodyfat.

If you loose fat from hips and waist and your weight stays the same you’re building muscle ❗

In any case, if you’ve lost a lot of size from you waist and only 1 to 2cm elsewhere chances are you’ve gained muscle.

#6439 Reply
    yarro
    @yarro

Hi
    I have lost about 7cm of waste and 3 or 4cm of hips my waste is smaller than chest now.